Please Write a Blog Post About Your Generative AI legal Research/Writing Assignments!  

Guest Post by Sarah Gotschall

Recently, I was trying to add some sample generative AI legal research or writing assignments into our library’s ChatGPT and Bing Chat Generative AI Legal Research Guide LibGuide. However, I found only two sources of assignments to link to. So, I decided to write a blog post about an assignment I used last semester so I would have at least one other thing to link to…   

On a side note, while Googling around, I found the registration link for the Incorporating ChatGPT in the Legal Research & Writing conference which looks really good that I had intended to sign up for.   

So pleeeeeeeease consider writing a blog post about any assignments you have used, or to make them otherwise accessible online, so I can include links to them in the LibGuide.  

Anyway, below is an exercise that I used in April for my administrative law research class (or you can click here to view it as a Google document which includes the answers). So, a week before students work on the below ChatGPT/Bing Chat Exercise, they research a short pattern using Westlaw. Then, the following week, while they still remember something about it, I asked them to compare their research answers from the previous week with the answers to the same question generated by ChatGPT and Bing Chatbot. Then, for the rest of the exercise, students were asked to experiment with the systems using subjects of interest to themselves, and to ponder what they thought of the systems. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment