Staying Focused in the Summer

As a law librarian at a bustling law school in Atlanta, Georgia, I relish the academic year’s hustle and bustle. But when summer arrives, bringing with it a quieter library and students more focused on bar prep than research inquiries, I face a different challenge: maintaining focus and productivity in a less structured environment. After trying a few of the most commonly recommended strategies, I’ve discovered some reasonably effective ways to stay on track, even when the days are long and the library is whisper-quiet.

The Pomodoro Technique

First up is the Pomodoro Technique, a time management method developed by Francesco Cirillo in the late 1980s. The concept is simple yet powerful: work for 25 minutes, then take a 5-minute break. After four “pomodoros,” take a longer break of 15-30 minutes.

Initially, I was skeptical. How could breaking my work into such small chunks help me get through my to-do list? However, I found that planning my breaks in a more systematic fashion created a sort of “mental reward” system that boosted my productivity. It also reduced the burnout I sometimes feel in the middle of the day, since that  break is always there as a little light at the end of the tunnel. Using a system like this seems to normalize my productivity, getting rid of my most distracted days, but also unnecessarily breaking up my focus on those occasional days when I arrive at work preternaturally on-task.

Task Batching

Task batching involves grouping similar tasks together and tackling them in dedicated sessions. This approach minimizes the cognitive load of constantly switching between different types of tasks and helps maintain a state of flow.

This is a strategy I’ve used for a while now without adopting the term, so I can’t say it’s new to me. If I don’t batch my email correspondence, research queries, and meetings separately, work will start distracting me from work, and I will never get anything done as I flit from task to task. However, it can be really tricky to  batch process-oriented tasks that are always collecting, like emails.  Even when an email presents nothing urgent, it has this veneer of immediacy that makes it a real mental challenge to save my reply for some future time, even if inbox management is a task that I’ve specifically scheduled. I find this strategy works a bit better for those tasks that I might otherwise put off perpetually, like conducting my own research or writing a blog post.

Mindfulness and Meditation

I’m a big believer in mindfulness. Mindfulness practices, such as meditation, consistently help me improve my focus, reduce my stress, and enhance my overall well-being.

Of course, I only get these benefits if I can consistently use these practices. Although meditation has a relaxing quality, it also forces me to directly confront the restless anxieties that so often deter my focus. This isn’t necessarily as stressful as it sounds, but I do have those days when I would rather not peek behind the curtain.

For me, this restless quality is mitigated somewhat during the morning. If I can remember to do so consistently, I find a 10-minute meditation session to be a great way to start the day. It helps clear my mind, set intentions for the day, and prepare for whatever challenges lie ahead. Additionally, taking a few deep breaths during my breaks keeps me grounded and prevents stress from accumulating. Even in the library’s quietest moments, mindfulness practices keep my mind as organized as our reference materials.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment