CALI: Thank you, Milwaukee; Hello, San Diego!

I just got back from my second fantastic CALI conference, which was hosted by Marquette University Law School in Milwaukee, WI.   There was a lot to talk about: Sarah Glassmeyer’s move to CALI, iPads, Apps, video conferencing, open access, institutional repositories, QR codes, web and SMS based “clickers,” HTML 5, and many other technical things that went over my head.

Since iPads are the “hot” thing right now, I really enjoyed learning about some new (to me) apps.  Let me share a few of the apps that I have in my queue to play with:

  1. Instapaper – Save online content to read later.  Works with the computer, iPad, and Kindle. I foresee this coming in handy as I look for something to read on the plane trip to AALL in July!
  2. Paperdesk – I am not sure whether to describe this as a note taking app or a scrapbook.  You can create a document with images, audio files, typewritten words, and handwritten words and drawings all in one document.  I am a bit scared, but also intrigued.
  3. Show Me – A just-released from beta app (literally released the day I was told about it) that turns your iPad into a white board that records your drawings and voice narration.  You can see it in action on Vimeo.  I think I finally found the solution to trying to explain Positive Law v. Prima Facie Evidence to my online ALR students!
  4. Mobypicture – Photo uploading to social media sites. Available for iPhone, Android, and Blackberry.  This would have come in so handy in Milwaukee at the restaurant Wicked Hop as my coworker took on their…interesting…Bloody Mary, which involved a Slim Jim, mushroom, green olive, gherkin, shrimp and cheese.
  5. ThinkBook – OK, so this is one that I shared with people at the conference, but I love it so much that I wanted to share it with the RIPS Law Librarian Blog readers, too!  This is a note taking app that allows you to take notes in outline format.  It also syncs with Dropbox, allows you to create templates and checklists, and you can add a Q&A section to your document so that when you are doing something like interviewing someone, you can have your questions predetermined and ready to add the answers in right below.  It also has three levels of organization: Books, pages and Notes.  I took all of my CALI notes in this program and emailed the CALI book to myself so that I could write this post.  I am not sure how I survived without this for so long.

If you would like to see people talking about these apps or the rest of the topics, the CALIcon11 videos are available on the CALI Conference website at http://conference.cali.org/2011/webcast.  I am already looking forward to next year’s conference in beautiful San Diego!

This entry was posted in Apps (Applications), Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CALI: Thank you, Milwaukee; Hello, San Diego!

  1. Pingback: Collaboration is Key: Some Free Tools to Share Knowledge. « RIPS Law Librarian Blog

Leave a Reply

