A Test on the First Day of Class

This semester, I am teaching Advanced Legal Research.  As I was thinking about what to go over on my first day of class, I remembered one class in the past where the instructor gave a “pre-test”.  While I would not use many of that professor’s tactics, I decided that a mandatory, but ungraded pre-test was a good idea for several reasons:

1.       Our first year legal research and writing classes do not follow a uniform curriculum, so the students had different learning experiences

2.       As one of my students put it, “It has been two years since I took research”

3.       I need to know what material needs to be covered in class

And so, I started creating a test in TWEN.  I created 20 questions at different difficulty levels.  Some I did not expect many students to know, even with multiple choice options, such as what does HR stand for in HR 384.  Others, I expected everyone to know, such as what does “410” stand for in the citation 410 U.S. 113.  After finishing my question bank, I thought that the majority of the questions should be able to be answered by the average 3L.

On the first day of class, I gave the students 15 minutes to complete the quiz and then we went over the results.  Afterwards, I received a lot of worried feedback from the students that they did not know many of the answers.  I also went through the questions at home, and while not surprised, I was a bit dismayed at the results.  One person only answered 3 of the 20 questions correctly, and the highest grade was 14 out of 20.  The average grade was 9 – 10 correct answers out of 20.

Since drop add was not yet over, I thought that my test may have scared some of the students away.  Surprisingly, it did scare my students, but it scared them into staying in the class.

I will definitely be using a pre-test again.  It gave me a good feel for what the students know, but it also was a good learning tool for the students in that it taught them that there is quite a bit that they have yet to learn, even if they are graduating in 4 months.  I do not know if the test impacted this, but all fifteen of my students come to class with the desire to learn and become better researchers.

This entry was posted in Legal Research Instruction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Test on the First Day of Class

  1. KBrown says:

    You may want to think about submiting your pretest to the Teachin-Kit

  2. Helen says:

    The NY Times published news about research in the journal Science that showed students learn better from taking tests than from diagramming new information or over studying it, http://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/21/science/21memory.html?src=me&ref=science. I think it would be a good idea to submit your test for the Teach-in Kit too.

  3. Claudia Cook says:

    Interesting if troubling article. I work in a county law library. I am thinking that your test might be easily converted to a cheat sheet for our pro pers and even, from your results, for new attorneys. Would you be willing to share your test questions?

    Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

